His Dark Materials Saga

His Dark Materials is an epic trilogy of fantasy novels by Philip Pullman consisting of Northern Lights (1995) (published as The Golden Compass in North America), The Subtle Knife (1997), and The Amber Spyglass (2000). It follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes. The novels have won a number of awards, including the Carnegie Medal in 1995 for Northern Lights and the 2001 Whitbread Book of the Year for The Amber Spyglass. In 2003, the trilogy was ranked third on the BBC’s The Big Read poll.

His Dark Materials has been marketed to young adults, though Pullman wrote with no target audience in mind. The fantasy elements include witches and armoured polar bears; the trilogy also alludes to concepts from physics, philosophy and theology. It functions in part as a retelling and inversion of John Milton’s epic Paradise Lost, with Pullman commending humanity for what Milton saw as its most tragic failing, original sin. The series has attracted controversy for its criticism of religion.

The London Royal National Theatre staged a two-part adaptation of the series in 2003–2004. New Line Cinema released a film adaptation of Northern Lights, The Golden Compass, in 2007. Pullman followed the trilogy with two shorter books set in the same universe, Lyra’s Oxford (2003) and Once Upon a Time in the North (2008). La Belle Sauvage, the first book in a new trilogy set in the same universe, The Book of Dust, was published on 19 October 2017. A television series based on the His Dark Materials novels is set to be released in 2019.

Order of His Dark Materials Books

Below is the list of all the His Dark Materials books by Philip Pullman in their chronological order:

La Belle SauvageThe Book of DustPhilip Pullman2017AmazonKindle
Once Upon a Time in the NorthHis Dark Materials companion booksPhilip Pullman2008Amazon
Northern Lights / The Golden CompassHis Dark MaterialsPhilip Pullman1995AmazonKindleAudiobook
The Subtle KnifeHis Dark MaterialsPhilip Pullman1997AmazonKindleAudiobook
The Amber SpyglassHis Dark MaterialsPhilip Pullman2000AmazonKindleAudiobook
Lyra’s OxfordHis Dark Materials companion booksPhilip Pullman2003Amazon
SerpentinePhilip Pullman2020AmazonKindle
The Secret CommonwealthThe Book of DustPhilip Pullman2019AmazonKindleAudiobook

2 thoughts on “His Dark Materials Saga”

  1. The book order is mostly wrong. See below for correct order

    Once Upon a time in the North 2008 – Lee Scoresby is roughly in his mid 20’s and doesn’t meet Lyra until he is 50/60. https://www.cittagazze.com/livre/rencontre-pullman.php?version=en

    Book of Dust I – La Belle Sauvage 2017 – This is set 12 years before events of His Dark Materials. The final scene from La Belle Sauvage is the beginning of His Dark Materials TV series.

    Northern Lights [Golden Compass] 1995 – Lyra’s roughly 12 at this point.

    The Subtle Knife 1997 – Lyra 12/13

    Amber Spyglass 2000 – Lyra would be 13 towards the end of the book.

    Lyra’s Oxford 2003 – Lyra’s 15 and took place 2 years after His Dark Materials.”Lyra’s Oxford, page 30: “Since she and Will parted two years before” also https://pullman.davidficklingbooks.com/bookitem?pubID=30

    Book of Dust II – The Secret Commonwealth 2019 – Takes places when Lyra is 20 https://www.theguardian.com/books/2017/oct/19/philip-pullman-launches-la-belle-sauvage-sequel-the-book-of-dust-his-dark-materials

  2. Thanks Richard for pointing out this mistake. We’ve made the appropriate changes.

Leave a Reply