Keeper of the Lost Cities

Keeper of the Lost Cities is an upper-middle-grade fantasy series written by Shannon Messenger, that has appeared on the New York Times bestseller list. The first book in the series was an Association for Library Service to Children tween recommended read in 2013. The seventh book in the series, Flashback, had a first printing of 150,000 copies, and Messenger’s three-week tour to promote the book drew crowds of 200–700 people per event.

The series tells the story of Sophie Foster, a twelve-year-old high school senior with the ability to read minds. She has always felt alone, until a mysterious boy named Fitz Vacker shows her that there is a place where she belongs, and staying where she is will put her in terrible danger. She is forced to leave behind everything she has known and start a new life in the Lost Cities. Only then does she realize that she was given extraordinarily powerful abilities — and deadly secrets hidden in her subconscious – that some may kill for.

The story has continued over eight books as of November 2019, with one book released each year, as well as three short stories in limited editions. At least two more books in the series are planned for release in the Fall of 2021. It is confirmed that there will be a ninth book. Shannon Messenger has not signed a contract for the tenth book yet, but was offered one.

Order of the Keeper of the Lost Cities Books

Below is the list of all the Keeper of the Lost Cities books in their chronological order:

Keeper of the Lost CitiesShannon Messenger2012AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
ExileShannon Messenger2013AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
EverblazeShannon Messenger2014AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
NeverseenShannon Messenger2015AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
LodestarShannon Messenger2016AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
NightfallShannon Messenger2017AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
FlashbackShannon Messenger2018AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
LegacyShannon Messenger2019AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
UnlockedShannon Messenger2020AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books

Leave a Reply