The Kingsbridge series are historical novels by Welsh author Ken Follett first published in 1989 about the building of a cathedral in the fictional town of Kingsbridge, England. Set in the 12th century, the novel covers the time between the sinking of the White Ship and the murder of Thomas Becket, but focuses primarily on the Anarchy. The book traces the development of Gothic architecture out of the preceding Romanesque architecture, and the fortunes of the Kingsbridge priory and village against the backdrop of historical events of the time.

Before this novel was published, Follett was known for writing in the thriller genre. The Pillars of the Earth became his best-selling work. It was made into an 8-part miniseries in 2010. The book was listed at no. 33 on the BBC’s Big Read, a 2003 survey with the goal of finding the “nation’s best-loved book”. The book was selected in the United States for Oprah’s Book Club in 2007. It is the first book in the Kingsbridge Series – the others being a sequel, set 150 years later, entitled World Without End (2007), and A Column of Fire (2017) set in Elizabethan England. A fourth novel, The Evening and the Morning (2020), a prequel set in 997 AD, was released on September 15, 2020.

Order of the Kingsbridge Books

Below is the list of all Kingsbridge books in their chronological order:

The Evening and the MorningKen Follett2020AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
The Pillars of the EarthKen Follett1989AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
World Without EndKen Follett2007AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books
A Column of FireKen Follett2017AmazonKindleAudiobookiTunes Books

Leave a Reply