Magic Kingdom of Landover

The Magic Kingdom of Landover series is a series of six fantasy novels by Terry Brooks following the adventures of a former trial lawyer named Ben Holiday, and the collection of friends and enemies that he encounters when he purchases a magical kingdom.

The location of the novels centers in a fictional world known as Landover that is populated with numerous magical and fairy creatures. It takes its name from a humorous reference to The Wizard of Oz, particularly its “land over the rainbow”. It is a small world, surrounded on all sides by fairy mists which connect it to many other worlds, including Earth. Landover is a rural kingdom, populated by humans, gnomes, kobolds, and various other fantasy creatures, all of whom speak a language called “Landoverian” – which the protagonist can speak through magical means – and who often form separate societies. Their rulers, while answerable to the king, are allowed a certain degree of autonomy. Also inhabiting the land are the dragon Strabo and the witch Nightshade.

Landover is protected by the Paladin, a magical knight who is a projection of its rulers. In the absence of a worthy ruler, the Paladin disappears and Landover falls prey to a physical decay known as “the Tarnish”, which slowly spreads from the king’s castle (Sterling Silver) to the rest of the kingdom. The Paladin’s is one of the few magics in the land that can stand up against that of Strabo or Nightshade.

Order of the Magic Kingdom of Landover Books

Below is the list of all the Magic Kingdom of Landover books in the order they were published. The order also matches the chronological order of the books:

Magic Kingdom for Sale — SOLD!Terry Brooks1986AmazonKindle
The Black UnicornTerry Brooks1987AmazonKindle
Wizard at LargeTerry Brooks1988AmazonKindle
The Tangle BoxTerry Brooks1994AmazonKindle
Witches’ BrewTerry Brooks1995AmazonKindle
A Princess of LandoverTerry Brooks2009AmazonKindle