The Chronicles of Amber: Corwin Cycle

The Chronicles of Amber is a series of fantasy novels by American writer Roger Zelazny. The main series consists of two story arcs, each five novels in length. Additionally, there are a number of Amber short stories and other works.

The Amber stories take place in two contrasting “true” worlds, Amber and Chaos, and in shadow worlds (Shadows) that lie between the two. These shadows, including our Earth, are parallel worlds that exist in, and were created from, the tension between opposing magical forces of Amber and Chaos. The Courts of Chaos are situated at the very edge of an Abyss. Members of the royal family of Amber, after walking a Pattern that is central to Amber, can travel freely through the Shadows. While traveling (shifting) between Shadows, one can alter reality or create a new reality by choosing which elements of which Shadows to keep or add, and which to subtract. Nobles of the Courts of Chaos who have traversed the Logrus are similarly able to travel through Shadow.

Ten Amber novels were written by Roger Zelazny. The series of books was published over the years from 1970 to 1991. Portions of the first novel, Nine Princes in Amber, had previously been published in Kallikanzaros (No. 1, June 1967, and No. 3, December 1967). The novels Sign of the UnicornThe Hand of Oberon, and The Courts of Chaos first appeared in abridged, serialized versions in Galaxy Science FictionThe Guns of Avalon and five later “Merlin Cycle” Amber novels were not serialized or excerpted.

Several Chronicles of Amber omnibus volumes have also been published, collecting the five novels of the original “Corwin Cycle” in one volume, the five novels of the “Merlin Cycle” in another volume, and later (in The Great Book of Amber) all ten novels in a single volume.

The Corwin cycle

The first five novels are narrated in first person by Corwin, a prince of Amber, as he describes his adventures and life upon re-encountering his family after a loss of memory and an absence of centuries.

Publication Order of The Corwin Cycle books

Below is the list of all The Corwin Cycle books in the order they were published. This list also matches the chronological order of the Corwin Cycle books:

Nine Princes in AmberRoger Zelazny1970AmazonKindleiTunes
The Guns of AvalonRoger Zelazny1972AmazonKindleiTunes
Sign of the Unicorn Roger Zelazny1975AmazonKindleiTunes
The Hand of OberonRoger Zelazny1976AmazonKindleiTunes
The Courts of ChaosRoger Zelazny1978AmazonKindleiTunes