Word & Void

The Word & Void series by Terry Brooks (also called The Word and The Void) focuses on John Ross and Nest Freemark, forced acquaintances who use magic given to them from the Word to prevent mankind from being overcome by the demonic forces of the Void. The trilogy consists of Running with the Demon, A Knight of the Word, and Angel Fire East and is predominantly set in present-day Illinois. It follows Nest Freemark, a girl with magical abilities who has no known relationship to any Shannara character. Before the publication of Armageddon’s Children it was unclear whether this trilogy existed within the Shannara universe. It has since been revealed as the “ultimate prequel” to the Shannara novels.

Order of the Word & Void Books

Below is the list of all the Word & Void books in the order they were published. The order also matches the chronological order of the books:

Running with the DemonTerry Brooks1997AmazonKindle
A Knight of the WordTerry Brooks1998AmazonKindle
Angel Fire EastTerry Brooks1999AmazonKindle